Application

Application procedure

The requirement for a doctoral application to the Department of Linguistics is either an above-average degree (Lizentiat or Master) in a subject with an emphasis on linguistics, or an equivalent qualification with at least 30 ECTS credit points in courses that focus on linguistics in addition to a linguistics-oriented dissertation. (Note that knowledge of German is not required.)

If you already have an idea for a project you should:

  1. Find an appropriate supervisor for your project (this should be a professor from the list of those currently able to supervise doctoral students).
  2. Write a letter of application to the University, putting yourself forward as a prospective doctoral student (general information);
  3. Send your written application with the following documents to the coordination office of the Department of Linguistics (see contact details below):
    1. CV,
    2. A copy of your degree certificate,
    3. An outline of your proposed project (max. five A4 pages),
    4. A letter of recommendation from a professor,
    5. A covering letter.
    N.B. Application deadlines are 1st July and 1st January.
  4. Wait for the decision of the Executive Board;
  5. If your application is successful, you and your supervisor will sign a doctoral studies agreement (German: Doktoratsvereinbarung).

Step 1 is necessary not only for participation in the linguistics doctoral program, but also for undertaking a doctorate at the University of Zurich (UZH) in general. Steps 2 and 3 may be carried out simultaneously, as they relate to two independent applications. Please note that being accepted to the linguistics doctoral program does not guarantee successful enrolment as a doctoral student at the University of Zurich. If you are already enrolled as a doctoral student at the University of Zurich as part of another doctoral program, you may apply to us at any time. In this case, it is possible to alter your choice of program using the online registration tool, without too much difficulty.

If you have any questions regarding your application or the curriculum of our doctoral program, please see our FAQ and read the rules and guidelines for doctoral students. Our coordinator Sascha Völlmin will also be glad to help you.

If you have completed your studies abroad, especially in non-EU countries, please enquire about the applications process at the Admissions Office as early as possible. It may take some time to deal with such applications and therefore it is important that they be submitted punctually. For detailed further information about doctoral studies at the University of Zurich for international doctoral students, please visit this website of the International Scholars Center.

Contact

University of Zurich
Sascha Völlmin
Coordination PhD Program Linguistics
c/o Department of Comparative Linguistics
Plattenstrasse 54
CH-8032 Zurich
www.linguistics-phd.uzh.ch
E-Mail: sascha.voellmin AT uzh.ch

Bewerbung

Bewerbungsverfahren

Voraussetzungen für eine Bewerbung sind ein überdurchschnittlicher Studienabschluss (Lizentiat oder Master) in einem Fach mit linguistischem Schwerpunkt oder eine äquivalente Vorbildung mit mindestens 30 ECTS Punkten in Lehrveranstaltungen mit linguistischem Schwerpunkt sowie ein linguistisch ausgerichtetes Dissertationsprojekt.

Wenn Sie schon eine Projektidee haben, unternehmen Sie folgende Schritte:

  1. Suchen Sie sich eine Betreuungsperson (Professor/in) in der Trägerschaft des Programms.
  2. Schreiben Sie sich an der Universität als Doktorand/in ein (allgemeine Informationen; Bewerbungsverfahren).
  3. Schicken Sie Ihre schriftliche Bewerbung um Zulassung mit folgenden Dokumenten an die Koordinationsstelle (s. Kontaktangaben unten):
    1. Lebenslauf
    2. Kopie des Universitätsabschlusses
    3. Projektskizze (max. 5 A4-Seiten)
    4. ein Empfehlungsschreiben von einem Professor oder einer Professorin
    5. ein Motivationsschreiben in Briefform
    Bewerbungsfristen sind jeweils der 1. Juli und 1. Januar.
  4. Warten Sie den Zulassungsentscheid des Leitungsgremiums ab.
  5. Bei positivem Entscheid schliessen Sie mit Ihrer/n Betreuungsperson/en eine Doktoratsvereinbarung ab.

Schritt 1 ist die Voraussetzung nicht nur für die Teilnahme am Doktoratsprogramm, sondern auch für das Doktoratsstudium an der Universität Zürich (UZH) allgemein. Die Schritte 2 und 3 können gleichzeitig durchgeführt werden. Diese betreffen zwei verschiedene und voneinander unabhängige Bewerbungen. Die Aufnahme in das Doktoratsprogramm garantiert noch nicht die Einschreibung als Doktorand/in an der UZH. Wenn Sie bereits als Doktorand/in an der UZH bzw. in einem anderen Doktoratsprogramm eingeschrieben sind, können Sie sich bei uns jederzeit bewerben. Der Programmwechsel kann dann bei der elektronischen Semestereinschreibung ohne viel Aufwand vorgenommen werden.

Wenn Sie Fragen zur Bewerbung für unser Doktoratsprogramm oder zum Curriculum haben, schauen Sie bitte unsere Seite Fragen und Antworten an und lesen Sie unsere Doktoratsordnung und die Wegleitung. Gerne hilft Ihnen auch unser Koordinator, Sascha Völlmin.

Wenn Sie Ihr Studium im Ausland, insbesondere in Nicht-EU-Staaten, absolviert haben, erkundigen Sie sich bitte frühzeitig über das Bewerbungsverfahren bei der Zulassungsstelle. Dies kann einige Zeit in Anspruch nehmen und sollte rechtzeitig in Angriff genommen werden. Ausführliche und weiterführende Informationen zum Doktorat an der UZH für internationale Doktorierenden finden Sie auf der Webseite des International Scholars Center.

 



Kontakt

Universität Zürich
Sascha Völlmin
Koordination Doktoratsprogramm Linguistik
c/o Institut für Vergleichende Sprachwissenschaft
Plattenstrasse 54
CH-8032 Zürich
www.linguistics-phd.uzh.ch
E-Mail: sascha.voellmin AT uzh.ch