FAQ

banner


Q: Can I realize my PhD research project in the PhD program?

A: Yes, provided your dissertation has a linguistic subject and you are admitted to doctoral studies at the University of Zurich.


Q: What is the difference between the general doctorate and studies in the PhD program?

A: You must earn 30 ECTS points in the PhD program (cf. § 6 in the program regulations and paragraph 6 in the program guidelines), as opposed to 12 ECTS points in the general doctorate. Further differences are the fact that the PhD program offers courses in whose content and choice doctoral students are involved and the possibility to attend courses/lectures offered by cooperation partner universities. Moreover, PhD program students can apply for financial support for conferences, summer schools, and semesters abroad (i.e. attendance fees, travel expenses, accommodation), cf. § 8 in the program guidelines.


Q: Can I apply even if I am not a Swiss citizen?

A: Yes, provided you are admitted to doctoral studies at the University of Zurich. Further information.


Q: Do I apply directly for the program or do I first contact a particular professor?

A: First, you should find a professor who is willing to supervise your doctoral dissertation. Second, you have to enrol as a doctoral student at the Arts Faculty of the University of Zurich. In case you or your supervisor thinks that the PhD program is a good option for you, send us your application (cf. §§ 3.3 and 9 in the program guidelines).


Q: How concrete must my research project be at the moment of applying?

A: It would be advisable for you to know what you plan to do in your doctoral research before applying.


Q: What are the study fees for the PhD program?

A: There are no study fees in addition to the doctoral studies fees at the Arts Faculty of the University of Zurich.


Q: Can I finance my doctoral studies via a scholarship or a position as an assistant professor?

A: Ask your supervisor about your concrete options in this respect.


Q: What is the first step if I want to apply to the PhD program?

A: First you have to find at least one supervisor among the professors at the Arts Faculty of the University of Zurich and discuss your possible participation in the PhD program with him/her. Enrol as doctoral student at the University of Zurich and send your application to the program coordinator. Cf. § 9 in the program guidelines for further steps and the application guidelines (in German).


Q: Do I have to know German to participate in the PhD program?

A: No, knowledge of German is not necessary.


Q: Do I have to be fluent in English?

A: Yes, courses are often in held in English.


Q: Can I publish parts of my dissertation before the promotion?

A: Yes. It is okay to publish parts of your dissertation in, e.g., a journal. But keep in mind that there might be copyright problems in case you also want to publish your monograph in a publishing company.

Fragen und Antworten

banner


F: Kann ich im Doktoratsprogramm Linguistik mein Dissertationsprojekt realisieren?

A: Ja, wenn die Dissertation zu einem linguistischen Thema ist und wenn Sie an der Universität Zürich zum Doktoratsstudium zugelassen sind.


F: Was ist der Unterschied zwischen dem Allgemeinen Doktorat und dem Studium im Doktoratsprogramm?

A: Im Doktoratsprogramm Linguistik müssen Sie 30 ECTS-Punkte erwerben (s. § 6 in der Doktoratsordnung (DO) und Abschnitt 6 der Wegleitung), im Allgemeinen Doktorat sind es 12 ECTS-Punkte. Weitere Unterschiede sind die folgenden: Das Doktoratsprogramm bietet Lehrveranstaltungen an, deren Themen und Auswahl die Doktorierenden selbst mitbestimmen dürfen. Ferner besteht die Möglichkeit, die Veranstaltungen der Kooperationspartner zu besuchen. Ausserdem können die Doktorierenden des Doktoratsprogramms finanzielle Hilfe für Tagungsbesuche, Sommerschulen und Auslandsemester beantragen (Teilnahmegebühren, Reisekosten, Unterkunft), s. dazu Punkt 8 der Wegleitung.


F: Steht das Programm auch ausländischen Bewerbern offen z. B. mit dem Magister-Abschluss?

A: Ja, wenn Sie an der Universität Zürich zum Doktoratsstudium zugelassen sind. Weitere Informationen.


F: Bewerbe ich mich direkt für das Programm oder zunächst bei einem bestimmten Professor?

A: Am besten ist, wenn Sie zuerst einen Professor oder eine Professorin finden, der oder die bereit ist, Ihre Dissertation zu betreuen. Dann schreiben Sie sich an der Philosophischen Fakultät als DoktorandIn ein. Wenn Sie oder auch Ihre Betreuungsperson die Teilnahme an dem DP Linguistik gut findet, schicken Sie uns Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen (s. dazu Abschnitte 3.3 und 9 der Wegleitung).


F: Muss mein Dissertationsprojekt schon feststehen, oder kann ich dies später festlegen?

A: Es wäre gut, wenn Sie schon vor der Einschreibung wüssten, was Sie in Ihrer Dissertation machen möchten.


F: Fallen Studiengebühren an?

A: Studiengebühren sind für das Doktoratsstudium an der Philosophischen Fakultät zu bezahlen, nicht aber für die Teilnahme am DP Linguistik.


F: Besteht die Möglichkeit, das Studium im Programm über ein Stipendium oder eine Assistentenstelle zu finanzieren?

A: Lassen Sie sich darüber von Ihrer Betreuungsperson informieren.


F: Ich möchte mich für das Studium im Doktoratsprogramm Linguistik einschreiben, was muss ich als erstes tun?

A: Als erstens müssen Sie mind. eine Betreuungsperson aus den ProfessorInnen der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich finden und mit ihr die Teilnahme am Doktoratsprogramm besprechen. Schreiben Sie sich an der Universität als DoktorandIn ein und schicken Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen an die Koordination des Programms. Für den weiteren Ablauf des Verfahrens s. Punkt 9 der Wegleitung und das Merkblatt Bewerbung.


F: Kann ich ohne Deutschkenntnisse am Programm teilnehmen?

A: Ja, Deutschkenntnisse sind nicht erforderlich.


F: Muss ich Englisch können?

A: Ja, Englisch ist oft Unterrichtssprache.


F: Kann ich Teile der Dissertation schon vor der Promotion veröffentlichen?

A: Ja. Wenn Sie vorher Teile aus Ihrer Dissertation z.B. in einem Journal publizieren möchten, geht das in Ordnung. Denken Sie einfach daran, dass Sie evtl. Copyrightprobleme kriegen, wenn Sie die Dissertation noch in einem Verlag publizieren möchten.